Team Yokohama wins first round of Indian National Rally Championship

Published On 07-Jun-2016By TyreDekho Team

[caption id="attachment_910" align="alignnone" width="900"]Team Yokohama claims win INRC 2000cc Team Yokohama claims win INRC 2000cc segment[/caption]

Team Yokohama has won the first round in the 2000cc category of Indian National Rally Championship (INRC). Driving a Mitsubishi Cedia, Team Yokohama’s Rahul Kanthraj and his co-driver Vivek Bhatt posted a combined time of 01:38:06 at the Mahindra Adventure Rally of Maharashtra, thereby claiming the top spot on the podium.

Commenting on the occasion, Sanjay Chatterjee, General Manager Sales & Marketing, Yokohama India, said, “We recently announced Team Yokohama for 2015. A win at this early a stage is very encouraging for us. Last year, we had a podium finish in almost all the races and this year too, the start has been on a winning note.”

Team Yokohama’s lead driver Rahul Kanthraj added, “We have started the year with a win and that too with a lead of 3 minutes and 46 seconds. We hope to continue this form for the entire season in similar fashion.”

The duo of Rahul Kanthraj and Vivek Bhatt have participated in over 75 rallies since 2002 and together, they have bagged 4 Group and National championships. In the past, they have also finished as runners up on 4 different INRC events.

Besides the winning team, Yokohama also has driver Karna Kadur and co-driver M Chandrashekar competing in 1600cc in a Volkswagen Polo. Yokohama also supports Prithvi Dominic and his co-driver Pruthvi Ithal in the 2000cc category.

Yokohama has been actively participating in domestic motorsport events since 2008. Between 2008-2010, it had been the official tyre partner of Red Rooster Racing for INRC events. In addition to that, Yokohama has been a part of the Raid de Himalaya rallies too. Globally, the tyre manufacturer has been acting as the sole tyre supplier to WTCC events as well.

Other than being present in the replacement tyres business, Yokohama is Original Equipment supplier to manufacturers like Audi, Honda, Mercedes-Benz, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Porsche, Suzuki and Toyota.

You Might Also Be Interested In

Latest Tyres

  • Car
  • Bike
  • Truck

Best Tyres

  • Car
  • Bike
  • Truck
Which is your city ?